related articles

ASSG Calls for Syd Butterworth Liftime Achievement Award Nominations


ASSGOctober 20th, 2014 – The Australian Screen Sound Guild committee is now calling for nominations for the 2014 Syd Butterworth Lifetime Achievement Award. Syd Butterworth was one of Australia’s most respected sound recordists. He was a mentor to many current sound professionals. He won the Lifetime Achievement award from the ASSG in 2002 and tragically died in a car accident later that same year. His credits include Lantana, Careful He Might Hear You, and Les Patterson Saves the World.

The Lifetime Achievement Award Nomination Criteria can be found here. Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award are due by 5pm Friday, November 7, 2014. Please email your nomination to: president[at]

Our past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award are:
1998 Peter Fenton and Ron Purvis
1999 Clive Cross
2000 Don Connolly
2001 Barry Fernandes
2002 Syd Butterworth
2003 Clive Sloss
2004 Ross Linton
2005 Phil Judd
2006 Kim Ryrie
2007 Graham Thirkell
2008 David Hannay
2009 Julian Ellingworth
2010 Phil Heywood
2011 Helen Brown
2012 Roger Savage
2013 Gary Wilkins and Mark Wasiutak


Comments are closed.